meme

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly/NOT Instantly Want to Read a Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a wildly popular meme brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish. This week I am doing something different. I missed last week (I was lazy) so this week I am gonna mash up the two. So…

April 25:Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book (topic originally done back in 2013) — tell us all your book turn offs!

Plus! Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read a Book

With out further ado, here’s my list of things that make me want to read a book:

1. Pretty covers

I fall in love so quickly with book covers. Just love ’em. Lately, the ones that just have text in a cool font and nice layout have really caught my eyes.

2. Zombies

If you have read other posts, you’ll probably be able to tell that I’m a huge zombie fan. So naturally, if a book has got zombies in it I’m gonna want to read it.

3. Road trips

Books with a road trip are just awesome. Heck, any novel with an adventury/travel theme/plot are great. Nuff said.

4. Superpowers

I am a sucker for superpowers. They are just so badass and make me instantly want to read a book.

5. If there is a TV series/Movie coming out

I generally really like book to movie/TV series adaptations and always want to read the book first.

Alrighty, lets switch. Here’s my list of things that turn me off from a book.

6. Major romance plot

This is just generally not what I’m into.

7. Vampires

I like vampires, if they are badass, blood-sucking vampires. Lately, if a book has vampires, they aren’t real vampires, and it’s a paranormal book, so see above.

8. Mary Sues

I just hate books with Mary Sues. Especially if they think they are butt-ugly but the author describes them as super sexy. And they are martial arts kings. And they can do anything, but only with the support of the super sexy love interest. Just blah…

9. Abuse

I hate it when a book glorifies abuse, it’s just disgusting. This goes for animals and people.

10. Unprofessional covers

This ties in with my first point. I like nice, professional covers. An ugly cover just shows that the author didn’t care enough.

DFTBA and feel free to add your two cents in the comments.

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly/NOT Instantly Want to Read a Book”

  1. Curiousity – favorite road trip books? I’m putting together a list for a few weeks from now and I’m interested in reading road trip books that I haven’t already read. And I’m with you on #6. I’d forgotten that Amandla Stenberg was going to be in the adaptation of Everything, Everything, and now I want to read it. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The first Percy Jackson book (The Lightening Thief) comes to mind. That’s kinda a road trip/adventure book. The Darkest Minds comes to mind as well. Or the Lord of the Rings, though that’s not really a road trip…
      (thanks for the comment)

      Liked by 1 person

Comment!

