books

Books I Want to Read in 2017

Here is a post that should’ve been done in January.

I’m interested in broadening my reading horizons. Lately, I have been sick of YA books. They all seem to feature the same teenage angst and drama. I’m tired of reading about it. So I’m going change up the type of books I’m reading. There will still a couple YA books in the list, but those will be in the minority.

All book covers will link to their Amazon pages.

fahrenheit451

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

I’ve always wanted to read this book, just never had. The plot seems intriguing and I’ve heard good things about it. It also seems to explore some themes that very well could relate directly to today’s time.

78d6385a091b6cdfd92909f57fb53249

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

Although I said I was sick of reading about teenage angst I’ll make an exception for this one. Highly recommended to me by several, it is one that interests me too. I’m at the age where I’m trying to figure out how to be an adult and I want to read this while my brain is still sorta in the mind frame of a teenager.

       poster_1984_lrg  animalfarm

1984 and Animal Farm by George Orwell

Mostly the same reasons as Fahrenheit 451. I think it’d be interesting to see how close people’s ideas from about a half century ago relate to ours now.

book-thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I started this book a couple years ago and loved it. Life got in the way and I never got to finish it. I want to do that this year.

code_name_verity_-_electric_monkey_cover

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

WWII books have really interested me lately. So this is one I’d like to try. It is also rated high so I have pretty high hopes for this one.

cvr9781442402331_9781442402331_lg

Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

This one includes the whole series. The box set was given to me for Christmas and I would like to read them. I’ve already read the first one and loved it, that was the reason I asked for it. To be honest I like almost anything that involves zombies.

gbmm6ln

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Cannibals and post apocalyptic setting, what could be any better? Working at a library gives me bunches of chances to snatch up brand new donated books (because people are crazy) and I jumped at this chance. The only reason I haven’t gotten around to reading yet is because I’m a little put off with the punctuation style, but I’ll get use to it.

a091151176eb765dc7fc5e2b75609ee9

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I bought this book at Barnes and Noble recently and so naturally I would like to read it. I’ve read the first couple of pages and fell in love with the writing style so I think this will be a good read. Plus, its movie is coming out and I would like to read the book before I see that. Liam Neeson is in it and I like his voice.

the-bad-beginning-cover-image

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

I never read these as a kid and I’m seriously regretting that. I love the Netflix series (binged that over a weekend) and I just recently read the first in the series (The Bad Beginning). I definitely want to finish the whole series.

These won’t be the only books I read, though I’ve been a pretty slow reader lately so we’ll see how many more I can get through.

There should be reviews coming out for these as I read them.

DFTBA and feel free to add your two cents in the comments.

Comment!

